Digital Manga Inc. Blog

April 7, 2015

Osamu Tezuka’s manga, Clockwork Apple, to be Crowd Funded

CA_cover4c

(GARDENA, CA)
After multiple Kickstarter campaigns in an effort to get the god of manga, Osamu Tezuka, printed in English, Digital Manga, Inc. is at it again with their new Kickstarter title, Clockwork Apple. This Tezuka title is an anthology of speculative fiction short stories originally printed from 1968 – 1973. At about 235 pages, the book is planned for a September 2015 release date. Recommended for fans of Eerie and Creepy comics, and the TV series, The Twilight Zone.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/digitalmanga/publish-osamu-tezukas-clockwork-apple

About Clockwork Apple

Written as the New Wave of science fiction emerged, Clockwork Apple delves into the psyche of humans and the consequences of their actions, much to their demise. From Japan to Germany to space, the characters of each story must face their foes, whether it be plant aliens, robbers, political intrigue, selfish humans, or themselves. If you’re a fan of 1970s sci-fi stories, this manga would be a great piece to add to your collection.
(more…)

February 26, 2015

WE DID IT!

THANK YOU, EVERYONE!

Because of you all, Alabaster in English WILL see the light of day THIS YEAR. I’m so excited for all of us. Thank you for believing in this project; I know your money is important to you, and I want to thank you for deciding that Alabaster is worth it.

It is worth it! If you have the energy and continued support, please keep our momentum going! Tell your friends; tell your friends’ friends! There’s still time to get your copies of Alabaster and our other print titles. ^_______^
(more…)

Every $2 helps!

No kidding; we are now 97% FUNDED.

If our current Alabaster Kickstarter backers added just $2 to their pledge OR got someone they know to pledge just $2, we’d be right as rain RIGHT NOW! We have just over 24 hours left, so let’s all pull in this (metaphorical) shark and bring Alabaster to the English-reading world. ^_^

AND, don’t forget about our great new tiers and ADD ON options.

Update #10: Adding on individual Tezuka books
Update #7: ADD ONs are coming to a Kickstarter near you!
Update #6: Three BRAND NEW tiers just for you!

February 25, 2015

Backer Spotlight: There’s still time to become Infamous!

Alabaster is a story I’ve been waiting to read for seven years. If we do not succeed, I have no idea how much longer I will have to wait.” —Linnea Harper, ‘Infamous’ Alabaster backer

Like all of our wonderful backers during this Kickstarter campaign to publish and print Alabaster, Linnea is one of a kind in the best kind of way! “Hello, my name is Linnea,” she says, “and I am a geek.” Her favorite manga-ka—aside from Osamu Tezuka, of course—are Moto Hagio, Naoki Urwasawa, Fumi Yoshinaga, and CLAMP. She loves live music and has a weakness for songs about werewolves. (Any good werewolf song suggestions you can share with us, Linnea?) As always, we jumped right in with the God of Manga himself, Osamu Tezuka.
(more…)

February 23, 2015

Adding on individual Tezuka books

We’ve gotten several requests for an ADD ON option that allows backers to choose which of the previous Tezuka titles they’d like to add to their Alabaster Kickstarter contribution. Here’s what you’ve been waiting for! In addition to the current ADD ONs list, you can get the following:

$14 each Ludwig B vol.1-2 Digital
$13 Triton of the Sea vol.1 Digital
$13 Triton of the Sea vol.2 Digital
$13 Captain Ken vol.1 Digital
$13 Captain Ken vol.2 Digital
$16 Swallowing the Earth Digital
$13 Barbara Digital
$22 Unico Digital
$8 Atomcat Digital
$8 Brave Dan Digital
$5 Any one issue of Weekly Astro Boy Magazine

$35 for the set: Ludwig B vol.1-2 Print (FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING)
$30 for the set: Captain Ken vol.1 and vol.2 Print (FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING)
Please add $7 for each set for international shipping.

As always, please message us with your choices after you add the total amount to your pledge and we’ll make a note of it on our end and send you a confirmation.

Find ‘Alabaster’ across the web!

Check out the recent articles about our Alabaster campaign! If you would like to interview us for your audience, please feel free to drop us a line. This campaign ends at 5:28 PM PT on February 27, and we need to get the word out.

“Digital Manga Launches Kickstarter to Print Tezuka’s Alabaster” at Anime News Network
“DMP Launches New Tezuka Manga Kickstarter” at Otaku USA
“ALABASTER — Tezuka’s Lost Masterpiece?” at Anime Vice

We also sponsored this week’s episode of The Once and Future Podcast! Please head over there to listen to a great hour-long interview with Jonathan Maberry, author of the Joe Ledger series of books and the V Wars comics. Check out “O&F Podcast, Ep. 73: Jonathan Maberry” at The Once & Future Podcast now. ^_^

(more…)

February 19, 2015

Backer Spotlight: International ‘Alabaster’ backers represent!

“Well, it has been said that in the end, you don’t regret the things you did, but rather the things you didn’t do. I rather die a bit poorer but with the Tezuka works in my collection!” —Stephanie Lindström, international Alabaster backer

We know that shipping outside the United States is basically like selling an arm and a leg, and we’re very sorry! :( We do our best to keep shipping costs down, but we don’t have control over the shipping rates our carriers employ. With that in mind, we interviewed one of our international Alabaster Kickstarter supporters Stephanie to see if she could put things into perspective. As a Finnish graphic designer who loves movies, collects comics, and “reads science,” it turns out that she’s interested in just about everything! (Plus, she loves Star Wars. So do we, Stephanie; so do we.) Just like Daniel’s interview, we started with Osamu Tezuka.

(more…)

February 17, 2015

ADD ONs are coming to a Kickstarter near you!

ADD ONs are coming to our Alabaster Kickstarter campaign, starting right now! Read below for bonus ADD ONs in two parts: our Tezuka Bundle Digital AND Digital Companions. Remember, either of these two parts (or both! see below) may be added to ANY existing tier reward.
(more…)

« Newer PostsOlder Posts »

Powered by WordPress