Digital Manga Inc. Blog

August 3, 2015

Digital Manga Warehouse Summer Sizzler Sale


Aug 6th – 8th , Thurs & Fri & Sat.
Come to our annual Digital Manga Warehouse Summer Sizzler Sale, where we will have clearance of hundreds of titles from our popular imprints: DMP, DMP Platinum, June, 801 Media, and Project-H… as well as select import items!

This year, we are holding our summer clearance sale for 3 days!!! From Aug 6th – 8th , Thurs & Fri & Sat. We’ll have plenty of free promotions, raffles for high valued prizes, giveaways, and snacks…

This’ll be your chance to start your summer collection, stock up gifts, or complete your series at dirt cheap prices!! Prices start as low as $3 for many items! If you missed out on any of this season’s conventions, then come to this! Free parking, Free admission, Free swag!

Aug 6th Thurs: 11am-5pm
Aug 7th Fri: 11am-5pm
Aug 8th Sat: 10am-2pm

Digital Manga Office
1487 W.178th Street, 3rdFloor
Gardena, CA 90248

Enter into the gated parking lot of the tan business buildings… Digital Manga is the middle building on the top 3rd floor, suite 300…enter the lobby come up to the third floor via elevator. Follow the signs!


July 16, 2015

Storm Fairy Funded!

Filed under: DMP Platinum — admin @ 5:14 pm

Our latest kickstarter for Storm Fairy has just wrapped up and was a huge success! We hit our initial goal and were able to hit all our stretch goals! All of us at DMP would like to extend a huge thanks to all our backers! With everybody’s support we were able to raise $38,142!

We will be keeping regular updates on our kickstarter page. Until next time, have a wonderful day!

June 17, 2015

Digital Manga, Inc. to publish Osamu Tezuka’s shojo manga, Storm Fairy


With successful Kickstarter campaigns like Captain KenLugwig BAlabaster, and the recent Clockwork Apple, Digital Manga isn’t slowing down their Kickstarter train to publish “God of Manga” Osamu Tezuka titles, and their next project is a shojo (girl’s) title called Storm Fairy. This manga is a collection of three short stories with the first being the longest at the length of half the book, and the other two make up the rest. Their new standard will have the book printed in high-quality off-set white paper, and is scheduled to be released in October, 2015. The Kickstarter campaign is planned to start June 16th, and will run for 30 days.

April 22, 2015

Backer Spotlight: First backer but not first timer!

“I’ve come to trust DMP with not only my money, but with Tezuka’s reputation. I know that DMP will do their best to honor him and create a high-quality, wonderfully translated volume at a price that won’t break the bank.”
—Mahlon Landis, Clockwork Apple Kickstarter campaign backer

Mahlon is our very first Clockwork Apple Kickstarter campaign backer, but she’s definitely not a first timer! She hails from Oklahoma and is about to graduate with a degree in Language Arts Education. (Yay! Congratulations, Mahlon!) She loves “reading, writing, baking, ballet dancing, and getting crafty in [her] free time.” Besides her interest in anime and manga, she’s learning to code this year, so if anyone has website or book recommendations for HTML/CSS, Java, or Python lessons, we’re sure she’d be happy to hear them. (About learning to code, she says, “It’s kind of difficult, but it’ll be totally worth it in the end.”) A lady with a long list of favorites, Mahlon has been a fan of anime and manga for almost eleven years, and we’re glad she was willing to answer a few of our questions in what little spare time she has!


Digital Manga, Inc.: What was your first introduction to Osamu Tezuka’s work?

Mahlon Landis: My first job was shelving books at a local library, and one day I stumbled across Tezuka’s Buddha. It looked pretty interesting and different, so I checked it out and zoomed through all of the volumes in the matter of a month. It was moving, gorgeous to look at, and highly entertaining, which is something I’ve come to realize is the norm for Tezuka’s works.

DMI: What keeps you coming back for more?

ML: His ability to create incredibly human tales is amazing to me, and I keep coming back to him because I know I’ll always feel enlightened once I finish one of his books.

DMI: You’re the first backer to support this campaign! What enticed you to pledge so quickly?

ML: This is the fourth Tezuka Kickstarter that I’ve had the privilege of backing, and through all of that I’ve come to trust DMP with not only my money, but with Tezuka’s reputation. I know that DMP will do their best to honor him and create a high-quality, wonderfully translated volume at a price that won’t break the bank (which is important for a poor college kid like myself). I know that DMP will do the job right, and that’s why I jumped the gun and pledged so quickly.

DMI: You’re trying to convince a friend to also support this campaign; what do you tell them?

ML: Hey, you. Yeah, you. Manga is awesome. Tezuka is awesome! Don’t you want an opportunity to bring more Tezuka to the English-speaking world? Maybe want some cool swag, or a chance to get your name in the book? Want to be a part of something AWESOME? Then go pledge today! I promise you won’t regret it. ;)

Currently, Mahlon is reading Kyoko Okazaki’s Helter Skelter and watching Sailor Moon Crystal and Ore Monogatri!! Check out her great list of favorites!

Anime: Princess Tutu and The Twelve Kingdoms
Manga: Naoki Urasawa’s Monster and Tezuka’s Buddha
Movie: Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure
Book: A Clockwork Orange

Thank you again for your time, Mahlon, and we hope your pledge to Clockwork Apple lives up to your expectations!

If you know someone who might be interested in supporting Digital Manga’s efforts to publish Osamu Tezuka’s work in English, please have them take a look at the campaign page!

April 16, 2015


goalGuess what, guys and gals! Sometime between last night and this morning, we hit our initial goal to translate, publish, and print Clockwork Apple by Osamu Tezuka! /does happy dance/

Brave Dan

I’m excited to let you know more about our FIRST STRETCH GOAL for $18,200 to print Brave Dan in English for the FIRST TIME EVER. So, here’s the deal.

ALL of our backers who pledge ANY amount ($1+) will receive a Brave Dan colorized, high definition desktop wallpaper, which will be created specifically for this campaign! All of the backers who pledge the “Back to Basics” tier and up ($20+) will ALSO receive a Brave Dan surprise when we ship out everyone’s rewards.

You may also, of course, ADD ON either the print or digital version of Brave Dan (or both!) to your current pledge.

$20 Brave Dan PRINT (domestic shipping included; international backers please add $4)
$8 Brave Dan DIGITAL

After you’ve adjusted your pledge, please message us to let us know. We will make a note of it on our end and send you a confirmation.

We’re telling you more about this now so that you can plan your pledge, but please remember that we WILL NOT be able to provide these ADD ON items unless we reach the stretch goal of $18,200. So please spread the word so that we can print Brave Dan, too, and give you all what you’ve been waiting for!


Stretch Goal #2

When we reach $22,900, we’ll be able to reprint the Tezuka classic Barbara for fans who were unable to pick up a copy from the first printing! If and when this happens, we’ll let you know how to add on to your order a print copy of Barbara! (You can ADD ON the digital version right now!) ALSO, we’ll have freebies for every backer; MORE INFORMATION ONCE THIS GOAL IS UNLOCKED.

April 15, 2015

Ready for ‘Clockwork Apple’ ADD ONs? We are!

We asked, and you’ve spoken! We’re now pleased to offer ADD ON items, including several Tezuka books! Remember, you’ll receive your ADD ONs in addition to your current pledge. (That’s what “ADD ON” means, after all! ^_^) You can now ADD ON any of the following to your pledge for Clockwork Apple:

$18 Rock (Holmes) Cabby/Paperboy hat
$18 Clockwork Apple cinch bag
$25 Clockwork Apple debossed Moleskine journal

$5 any one issue of Weekly Astro Boy Magazine (#1-80)
$8 Age of Adventure
$8 Crime and Punishment
$8 Mr. Cactus
$8 New Treasure Island
$8 The Castle of Dawn
$8 Atomcat
$13 Triton of the Sea vol.1
$13 Triton of the Sea vol.2
$13 Captain Ken vol.1
$13 Captain Ken vol.2
$13 Barbara
$14 Ludwig B vol.1
$14 Ludwig B vol.2
$16 Swallowing the Earth
$22 Unico

—-domestic shipping included; international shipping add $7 for each set
$30 Captain Ken vol.1-2 set
$32 Alabaster vol.1-2 set
$35 Ludwig B vol.1-2 set

Please message us through Kickstarter with your choices after you add the total amount to your pledge, and we’ll make a note of it on our end and send you a confirmation.

April 10, 2015

Have you ‘discovered’ Clockwork Apple?

Limited to only 15, the “Discovery” backer reward tier is a kind of Tezuka blind box. It’s not completely blind, so to speak, since we’re also throwing in the great Rock It cabby hat. It’s always nice to get a surprise in the mail, but it’s even better when you know the package will contain awesome stuff! Even better, this tier clocks in at just $92. Pledge now before we run out.

Discovery Reward Tier

Only 15 available! Yes, only FIFTEEN.

The ‘blind’ part comes into play with our Black Jack trading cards and Tezuka character pins. Domestic shipping is included; international backers must add $38 to ship overseas (sorry T_T). Here’s what comes in the “Discovery” tier:

  • e-Love and campaign updates (like this one!)
  • Thank You card signed by Hikaru
  • Clockwork Apple DIGITAL
  • Clockwork Apple PRINT
  • Digital Companion
  • Your name in the book
  • Bookmarks (2 versions)
  • Poster
  • Limited edition Clockwork Apple wooden coin
  • ONE (1) randomly chosen Black Jack trading card
  • ONE (1) randomly chosen Tezuka character pin
  • Rock It cabby hat

April 7, 2015

Osamu Tezuka’s manga, Clockwork Apple, to be Crowd Funded


After multiple Kickstarter campaigns in an effort to get the god of manga, Osamu Tezuka, printed in English, Digital Manga, Inc. is at it again with their new Kickstarter title, Clockwork Apple. This Tezuka title is an anthology of speculative fiction short stories originally printed from 1968 – 1973. At about 235 pages, the book is planned for a September 2015 release date. Recommended for fans of Eerie and Creepy comics, and the TV series, The Twilight Zone.

About Clockwork Apple

Written as the New Wave of science fiction emerged, Clockwork Apple delves into the psyche of humans and the consequences of their actions, much to their demise. From Japan to Germany to space, the characters of each story must face their foes, whether it be plant aliens, robbers, political intrigue, selfish humans, or themselves. If you’re a fan of 1970s sci-fi stories, this manga would be a great piece to add to your collection.

Older Posts »

Powered by WordPress