Digital Manga Inc. Blog

April 7, 2015

Osamu Tezuka’s manga, Clockwork Apple, to be Crowd Funded

CA_cover4c

(GARDENA, CA)
After multiple Kickstarter campaigns in an effort to get the god of manga, Osamu Tezuka, printed in English, Digital Manga, Inc. is at it again with their new Kickstarter title, Clockwork Apple. This Tezuka title is an anthology of speculative fiction short stories originally printed from 1968 – 1973. At about 235 pages, the book is planned for a September 2015 release date. Recommended for fans of Eerie and Creepy comics, and the TV series, The Twilight Zone.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/digitalmanga/publish-osamu-tezukas-clockwork-apple

About Clockwork Apple

Written as the New Wave of science fiction emerged, Clockwork Apple delves into the psyche of humans and the consequences of their actions, much to their demise. From Japan to Germany to space, the characters of each story must face their foes, whether it be plant aliens, robbers, political intrigue, selfish humans, or themselves. If you’re a fan of 1970s sci-fi stories, this manga would be a great piece to add to your collection.

As a side note, this anthology does not have anything to do with the book, Clockwork Orange. Tezuka liked the vivid image that title invoked, but had never read it before he wrote his manga, though sharp readers may see how Tezuka also writes about how his characters deal with violence.

This title is often regarded as being one of the top five Osamu Tezuka titles, and I agree. Tezuka always excelled in writing stories that could potentially happen in our reality. Pretty scary. – Hikaru Sasahara, President of Digital Manga, Inc.

New to the campaign are items specifically designed with Tezuka characters in mind such as a cabby / paper-boy hat with Rock Holmes embroidered on the back with his usual cocky grin and, for the first time ever, a 3.5”x5.5” Moleskine journal with the Clockwork Apple logo de-bossed onto the cover. Join not just the Tezuka community, but the Moleskine community as well with your ideas and sketches in this limited edition Moleskine.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/digitalmanga/publish-osamu-tezukas-clockwork-apple

About DMI and Tezuka Productions

Digital Manga Inc. has over 20 years of experience publishing manga, and president and founder, Hikaru Sasahara, personally knew Tezuka and his dreams of world unity. Hikaru had created Digital Manga, Inc. in order to bring about his concept of “East meets West,” and has published many manga including other Tezuka titles like Barbara, Unico, Triton of the Sea, and Captain Ken.
Tezuka Productions has brought to the anime and manga industry controversial books that always pushed the boundaries of what it means to be human. Tezuka does not shy away from showing all the facets of humanity, whether it be sorrow, joy, humor, tragedy, these things encompass what it means to live no matter what type of skin, color, shape, or gender others have. Some famous books Tezuka and his production company have published are Astro Boy, Blackjack, Unico, and Buddha.

Questions? Contact us at: contact@emanga.com

Digital Manga Inc.
Located in Gardena, CA, Digital Manga Inc. is one of the industry’s most unconventional and innovative companies, specializing in building corporate and cultural bridges from Japan to the West – specifically through the licensing, importation, and preparation of anime (Japanese animation), manga (Japanese comic books) and related merchandise for North America’s mainstream and niche markets. In this capacity, DMI serves as a catalyst for the spread of Japanese pop culture institutions into the global arena. The company’s imprint lines include DMP (its mainstream imprint), DMP Platinum (its classic manga imprint), JUNÉ (its boys love imprint), 801 MEDIA (its adult boys love imprint), DokiDoki (its exclusive co-publishing imprint with Shinshokan Publishing), DH/DMP (a co-publishing venture with Dark Horse Comics, Project H (its Seinen Hentai manga imprint) and DMG (a new forefront for its digital distribution initiative).
For more information about Digital Manga Publishing, visit http://www.digitalmanga.com as well as:

http://www.dmpplatinum.com/
www.dmpbooks.com
www.junemanga.com
www.digitalmangaguild.com
https://www.emanga.com/tezuka
https://www.akadot.com/

Follow us on twitter @digitalmanga

Find us on Facebook: Digital Manga Inc.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress